One Year Of Blogging


Today is March 30, 2010 and I am posting my 96th blog. One year back on March 29, 2009 and almost around this time in the night, I started my blog space :

http://www.mevidur.wordpress.com

I must admit that it was a hesitant start. I had lots of doubts about myself and about the new medium, I was venturing into.  Then I was computer illiterate and definitely not a net savvy person. I was initiated into it and wrote my first blog for Kreating Charakters website – “ Putting Pen To Paper ”. It was few days before March 29. But that was it. I never pursued it further. But on March 2009, suddenly I felt an urge to write and I wrote and posted a new blog on my above mentioned blog space. Gradually I started writing and posting blogs regularly and religiously.

As I started writing regularly, I found to my amazement that I have so many topics to write on and then I divided my blogs in 09 Categories. They are :

1 – 1…………………………………………………………..02 ===Postings
2 – Films…………………………………………………….36 =====”
3 – Memoirs………………………………………………..09 =====”
4 – Miscellaneous…………………………………………05 =====”
5 – Neighbours-China……………………………………03 =====”
6 – Neighbours-Nepal……………………………………04 =====”
7 – Neighbours-Sri Lanka………………………………03 =====”
8 – Politics…………………………………………………36 =====”
9 – Social Issues………………………………………….04 =====”

Till date, in all the categories, I have posted 95 blogs. This is my 96th blog. It means I wrote and posted 08 blogs per month or 02 blogs per week.

In the first month ( March 2009 ), I got only 09 hits. Scenario completely changed after a year in March 2010. In this month, till today I have got 523 hits. From 09 hits a month to 523 hits a month ! What a sea change, what a journey ! In total I have 2809 hits. The average comes to 08 hits per day. But there were some special days also, when I got too many hits. On November 19, 2009 there were 60 hits. On March 19, 2010 there were 42 , on March 24 there were 40 and on March 27, two days before anniversary there were 61 hits on my blog. On March 28, a day earlier the anniversary, I had 44 hits. Not very discouraging figures. But there is scope to improve. It has to improve.

In the year I had some unexpected VIP visitors too. People from L. K. Advani’s office, Narendra Modi’s office and Telugu Superstar Nagarjuna’s office visited my blog space. Eminent film directors like Shekhar Kapur and Mahesh Bhatt too found time to visit it. My student Vivek Oberoi visited it and so many others students also hit it regularly. Yesterday I had Taslima Nasreen as a visitor. I am happy she visited my blog on the 1st anniversary. It’s like icing on the cake.

It has been a successful endeavour. I hope this fascinating obsession will continue unabated in the coming year too. Amen !!

I celebrated the anniversary with my family at a quiet dinner at a new eatery KHAU GALLI in Andheri , Mumbai.

Vidur

http://www.vidur.co.in

Leave a Reply

ErikaBeyk

This WordPress.com site is about Health and Wellbeing

Arun Shanbhag

Life is Beautiful, Live it the fullest

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

