Vidur’s Travel Diary – 2 : Tirupati


CHENNAI – TAMIL NADU – INDIA            NOVEMBER 25 , 2011              07.00 A.M.

First of all I must express regret that I am writing my Travel Diary after a long time . My last Travel Diary was about my Udaipur visit in October 10 , 2010 . After that I did visit few places but could not write anything . On November 20 , 2011 , when I started my journey to Tirupati for pilgrimage and vacation , I thought that it is right time to start writing Travel Diaries again . With my wife and son , I started my journey for Tirupati from Mumbai on November 20th and reached Renigunta on 21st afternoon . I stared clicking photographs and tried to post blog from Tirupati but insufficient network coverage failed my attempts every time . I resigned to my fate and gave up .

On November 24th , when I reached Chennai , I decided to complete and post my blog about Tirupati visit . Sitting in my room in Hotel Golden Tower , I am remembering things about Tirupati visit and writing this blog .

Tirupati is a small town in Andhra Pradesh . It is just 4 hours drive away from Chennai . It has nothing except the world-famous Balaji temple . Though it is not known to many that the famous temple is not in Tirupati town but at Tirumala Hills .One can reach Tirupati by air and train . It has two stations ; Renigunta and Tirupati .

Tirupati Raiway Station

There are several hotels for spartan or luxurious stay. And then you can hire a cab for Tirumala Hills . Buses are also available in plenty .

I took a cab from my hotel and started my journey on 22nd November , early morning . A giant idol of Shri Garud ji welcomes devotees at the gate of Tirumala Hills . After that climb to the hills starts .

Idol of Shri Garud Ji

When you climb the hill after crossing the idol of Shri Garud ji , you drive through lush green and verdant forest . Watching sunrise while driving is always pleasure .

Sun Rises at Tirumala Hills

Sun Rises at Tirumala Hills

Crossing lush green forest through zig – zag and extremely well maintained road , one reaches Tirumala .

Road to Tirumala

And suddenly the grand , heavenly gate of the temple appears in front of your eyes . Idols of Jay and Vijay , the mythical gate – keepers of Vaikunth , stand here also and gret you .

Gate of Tirupati Balaji Temple ; Jay & Vijay stand as Guard

And after crossing the gate one reaches the temple , which stands tall and magnificent .

With My Wife : Shri Balaji Temple in the Background

Since cameras are not allowed in the campus , I could not click photos inside the temple . After visiting the deity , I stood near the queue – gate and clicked one more and last photo .

Pathway to the Gate , Where Queue Starts

I drove back to Tirupati and to my horror found that I forgot the Mannat , for which I came . It was regarding my dead mother . So next day < that is on November 23 , 2011 , I again went for second Darshanam and completed the Mannat .

I have visited Tirupati 4 times , but only on this visit I went for Darshanam second time . So it comes to 4 visits to the town and 5 Darshanams . On November 24 , when I started for Chennai , I looked back at the town and decided that I would be visiting the shrine soon . Suddenly few lines of famous Hindi poet Agyeya occurred to my mind :

पार्श्व गिरि का नम्र चीड़ों में , डगर चढ़ती उमंगों सी ;

बिछी पैरों में नदी ज्यों दर्द की रेखा , विहग शिशु मौन नीड़ों में ; 

मैंने आँख भर देखा , दिया मन को दिलासा ; 
पुनः आऊँगा , भले ही बरस दिन , अनगिन युगों के बाद ;

क्षितिज ने पलक सी खोली , दमक कर दामिनी बोली ;
” अरे यायावर ! रहेगा याद ? “
………………………………………………..अज्ञेय
VIDUR

One Response

  1. Its very wonderful information about tirupati trip and Hotels Accommodation.Thanks for the inofmration.After reading this i have planed to visit tiruapti. Awesome post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

ErikaBeyk

This WordPress.com site is about Health and Wellbeing

Arun Shanbhag

Life is Beautiful, Live it the fullest

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

