Adieu Mario Miranda !


Mario Miranda

Mario Miranda

MUMBAI – MAHARASHTRA – INDIA           DECEMBER 13 , 2011           01.10A.M.

This Sunday on December 11 , 2011 , I woke up in the morning and again came face to face with a sad reality . Through twitter I came to know about the sad demise of Mario Miranda .

Since my adolescent years I love cartoons . When I went to Allahabad for higher studies , I came to know about ” Shankar’s Weekly ” , the most renowned magazine of cartoons . There was a library in the compound of Government Inter College , Allahabad . It was just in front of my hostel . I used to spent my evenings there as I had no interest in sports or any other activities . There I used to devour the latest issue of ” Shankar’s Weekly ” . I remember the day when ” Shankar’s Weekly ” was published for the last time . That was one of the saddest day of my life .

Later on when I started subscribing The Times of India , I came to know about legendary R. K. Laxman . I became a huge fan of R. K. Laxman and every morning I used to discuss about his cartoons with my friends . Going through the cartoons of R. K. Laxman first was a ritual , which I followed every morning . Even most important news had to wait .

During my Allahabad University days , I started subscribing ” The Illustrated Weekly of India ” and thus came to know about Mario Miranda . Legendary Khushwant Singh was the editor of ” The Illustrated Weekly of India ” and his sketch , which has now become immortal , was created by Mario Miranda . Khushwant Singh sitting in a bulb along with some photos of ladies and a bottle of liquor and of course with pen and paper is still fresh in my memory and every man and woman of my generation remembers that sketch . Existence of Khushwant Singh is synonymous with this sketch of Mario Miranda.

I am a huge fan of R. K. Laxman and his creation , the Common Man .In fact the Common Man Of Laxman is part of my being . But ” The Illustrated Weekly of India ” was my passion and Khushwant Singh and Mario Miranda represented that . So they became part of my intellectual being .

The Common Man as drawn by Laxman

Common Man of R. K. Laxman

In my humble opinion , R. K. Laxaman is Lata Mangeshkar among cartoonists and Mario is Asha Bhosle . To say that Mario was merely a cartoonist is denigrating his genius . He was a cartoonist , an illustrator , an artiste and a painter with his lines . His mural at Cafe Mondegar at Colaba , Mumbai is the telling testimony of his versatility .

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE cafe mondegar, metro house, ...

Mario's Mural at Cafe Mondegar

Padma Shri and then Padma Bhushan Mario Miranda was born in Daman . He later moved to Goa and died there in his ancestral village Loutolim at the age of 85 . He worked for Times of India ‘s various publications and specially for ” The Illustrated Weekly of India ” under Khushwant Singh .

His characters Miss Limboopani , Bundaldas and Napolean are immortal and no fun-loving person of my generation will forget them ever . These characters , along with R. K. Laxman’s Common Man , have become an intrinsic part of my life .

Mario Miranda was an unofficial ambassador of Goa . His works about Karnataka , Paris and Germany are world-famous . ” Goa With Love ” , ” Germany in Wintertime ” , and ” Impressions of Paris ” are there to enthrall his fans and keep his memory alive even though his mortal body has left us .

Farewell Sire ! You will be sorely missed . With your demise a very important part of my life is lost forever .

VIDUR

MUMBAI – MAHARASHTRA – INDIA

www.vidur.co.in

www.vidurfilms.com

www.twitter.com/VidurChaturvedi

www.jaibhojpuri.com/profile/VidurChaturvedi

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

ErikaBeyk

This WordPress.com site is about Health and Wellbeing

Arun Shanbhag

Life is Beautiful, Live it the fullest

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

