60 Years of Screen : A News Paper of Indian Cinema


MUMBAI – MAHARASHTRA – INDIA           January  01 , 2012           01.20 A.M.

Screen weekly completed 60 years in 2011 . I share my birth year with this film weekly . In fact ” Screen “ is few months senior .

Hindi film industry fascinates and lures numerous people from every walk of life . The pull and attraction are so strong that you have to be the Indian or Indian diaspora to believe this .

This syndrome was not different for me also . I was attracted to the film world since my early childhood . I still remember my fascination and that too very vividly .

 

Location of Deoria district in Uttar Pradesh

Location of Deoria in Uttar Pradesh

I started watching films regularly after completing High School . It was in 1967 . Deoria , my home town in Uttar Pradesh had 2 cinema halls ; Amarjyoti and Vijay . After examination , I watched ” Ganga Jumna “ , a Dilip Kumar Film , in the Amarjyoti Talkies and I was hooked . Before that I had watched some films but that was a sporadic , spur of the moment kind of behaviour . I had watched Dev Anand‘s ” Dushman “ , Ashok Kumar’s ” Bahu Beti “ and Rajendra Kumar‘s ” Sasural “ . V. Shantaram‘s ” Mausi “ was also a favourite . In those days of my infancy , every film was my favourite and I became curious and wanted to know more and more about the stars .

I started subscribing various film magazines and one day , while I was searching for a magazine at the news paper stand of Deoria Railway Station , I saw ” Screen “ . It was broad – sheet paper and had several photographs . Its price was 4 annas [ 25 Paise ] . It was published from Bombay [ now Mumbai ] . Though it was in black & white still photographs mesmerized me . I bought the paper , brought it home and read it at one go from top to bottom and from first page to the last page . And thus began a life long association , which still continues . Ali’s Notes , column of Mr. Ali Peter John , was my favourite .

During all these long years ” Screen “ had changed its format several times . From 25 paise in 1967 to INR 10.00 in 2011 , it is now a bit costly . Later on it became partly coloured along with black & white avatar . Then it became fully coloured . From broad – sheet to tabloid , then back to broad – sheet and now again in the form of tabloid , coloured ” Screen “ also changed many times . Style and font of mast – head ” Screen “ also changed couple of times . Though Hindi ” Screen ” was also started , but it was a non – starter from day one .

I think now it has taken final shape in its tabloid avatar .

I used to love its front page photos . Front page photo in ” Screen “ was like a barometer of popularity of a star . They used to feel as if they have arrived if they appeared on the cover of the latest ” Screen ” . It is still the same .The euphoria of being on the cover page of ” Screen “ is undiminished even after 60 long years .

As I have stated that I used to read ” Screen “ when it was a broad – sheet paper and used to be black & white . I know its reputation , which is untarnished even today . Naturally I was very happy when a small news came in ” Screen “ about me . It was about myself and Katrina Kaif , whom I was training at that time  . I am giving the link :

! – First article about me in ” Screen ”  was published in the May 21 , 2010 issue : http://bit.ly/dmi5FN

2 – Second article about me in ” Screen “ was published in the  December 02 – 08 , 2011 issue . http://www.indianexpress.com/news/Actors–Laboratory/875287/

[ This link is about the article in Indian Express . Same was re – printed in Screen .  Screen and Indian Express are sister publications .]

 

The Indian Express

Indian Express

I was so happy that finally , when I am 60 and ” Screen “ is also 60 , a big article about me was published this year . It’s like a culmination of my 44 year-long association with the paper , which started in 1967 .

VIDUR

MUMBAI – MAHARASHTRA – INDIA

www.vidur.co.in

www.vidurfilms.com

www.twitter.com/VidurChaturvedi

www.jaibhojpuri.com/profile/VidurChaturvedi

Leave a Reply

ErikaBeyk

This WordPress.com site is about Health and Wellbeing

Arun Shanbhag

Life is Beautiful, Live it the fullest

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

