World of Designer Suits


MUMBAI – MAHARASHTRA – INDIA           SEPTEMBER  25, 2012           00.20 A.M.

I was obsessed with suits since my childhood days . But I did not have any . During my childhood I had Sweaters , Chester and Jerkins as my winter – wears . I used to wear Coats also but they were rare . I have very early memories of woolen coats [ now known as Jackets ] , but Jerkins and Sweaters were my most favourite winter – wears .

I had proper suits at the time of my marriage . I got 3 suits stitched for myself and used to feel like a prince . Little did I realize that my so-called 3 suits were merely a blot on the name of suits .

When I came to Mumbai and settled here , I bought my first proper suit . It was Kuoton . Later on I got a designer for myself . His name is Sheikh and now he cuts suits for me and at least now I can claim that I have some fine suits in my wardrobe .

But the world of designer suits is very much different . In the world of designer suits , there are certain names , which stand out . James Bond is always associated with Savile Row Suits . In Great Britain Savile Row still reigns supreme .

English: Savile Row, a shopping street in Lond...

Savile Row, a shopping street in London (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: Gieves & Hawkes on Savile Row 1 in Lo...

Gieves & Hawkes on Savile Row 1 in London. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Savile Row 2

Savile Row 2 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Routes of Savile Row

Routes of Savile Row (Photo credit: NYSartorialist (Michael Cress Photography))

Abercrombie & Fitch, Savile Row, London

Abercrombie & Fitch, Savile Row, London (Photo credit: chrisjohnbeckett)

Savile Row

Savile Row (Photo credit: Oliver Joe)

But slowly the scenario changed and now Italy sets the world standard in suits . Giorgio Armani and Canali easily symbolized the best in Italian suits . Brioni , Zegna and Kiton are other names of repute .

In the September 09 , 2012 issue of  Hindustan Times Brunch , I read Mr. Vir Sanghvi’s article about Canali Suits and was tempted to write my encounter with suits . It is astonishing to know that Canali’s started stitching suits in a village called Lombardy in Italy in 1934 and the third generation of Canalis are  still doing the business with same passion and keeping the flag high .

I wont be able to buy a designer suit in near future but like famous watches which I intend to own , I would love to order a Made to Measure Canali suit at least once in my lifetime .

Hoping to happen it soon !

VIDUR

MUMBAI – MAHARASHTRA – INDIA

www.vidur.co.in

www.kreatingcharakters.net

www.vidurfilms.com

www.twitter.com/VidurChaturvedi

www.jaibhojpuri.com/profile/VidurChaturvedi

One Response

  1. […] World of Designer Suits […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

ErikaBeyk

This WordPress.com site is about Health and Wellbeing

Arun Shanbhag

Life is Beautiful, Live it the fullest

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

