Yash Chopra : ” Waqt ” Stopped ; ” Silsila ” Snapped


English: Yash Chopra at Suzanne Roshan's The C...

Yash Chopra at Suzanne Roshan’s The Charcoal Project Launch (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

MUMBAI – MAHARASHTRA – INDIA           OCTOBER 23, 2012           11.59 P.M.

Yash Chopra , the eternal romantic died on October 21 , 2012 . He was 80 years young at the time of his death .

On Sunday night , I was sitting in my study and was writing blog about Karan Johar’s  film ” Student Of The Year “ , I suddenly checked my twitter handle and was shocked beyond words . There were spate of tweets about the demise of legendary film maker Yash Raj Chopra .

Within moments several posters of his films , many scenes of his all – time classics rushed to the firmament of my memory lane . Though unaware of his greatness then , first Yash Chopra film , which I watched was ” Waqt ” [ 1965 ] . I watched it in Amarjyoti Talkies , Deoria . During my years in Allahabad , I watched many of his films and became aware of his greatness . This ” Silsila ” [ 1981 ] continued till Veer Zaara ” [ 2004 ] .

Waqt (1965 film)

Waqt (1965 film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Kaala Patthar

Kaala Patthar (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Silsila (film)

Silsila (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Dil To Pagal Hai

Dil To Pagal Hai (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Cover of

Cover via Amazon

I have nothing new to say about Yash Chopra . Everything is there in news papers . What I would like to say is , I had honour and privilege to meet Yash ji , as he is fondly called, several times .

Mohabbatein

Mohabbatein (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was called by Aditya Chopra to train 6 new – comers of  ” Mohabbatein ” [ 2000 ] . One day when I finished class with Jimmy Sheirgill , Uday Chopra , Jugal Hansraj , Shamita Shetty , Preeti Jhangiani and Kim Sharma and came out of the room , I saw Yash ji sitting there in the outer room . I rushed to greet him . He fondly shook hand with me and said , ” I am hearing great things about you .” I was overwhelmed . ” Mohabbatein “ was my first big film . And Yash Raj Films was my first big banner , I was sure that after the release of this film I would be able to come out of my obscurity . And here was a legend complimenting me about my training , I felt ecstatic .

It was not a compliment by some wannabe . It was from The Legend himself . To understand my feelings and elated state after Yash ji’s compliment just look at his credentials .

FILMS AS DIRECTOR :

” Dhool Ka Phool ” [ 1959 ] , ” Dharmputra ” [ 1961 ] , ” Waqt ” [ 1965 ] , ” Aadmi Aur Insaan ” [ 1969 ] , ” Ittefaq ” [ 1969 ] , ” Daag ” [ 1973 ] , ” Joshila ” [ 1973 ] , ” Deewar ” [ 1975 ] , ” Kabhi Kabhie ” [ 1976 ] , ” Trishul ” [ 1978 ] , ” Kaala Patthar ” [ 1989 ] , ” Silsila “[ 1981 ] , ” Mashaal ” [ 1984 ] , ” Faasle ” [ 1985 ] , ” Vijay ” [ 1988 ] , ” Chandni ” [ 1989 ] , ” Lamhe ” [ 1991 ] , ” Parampara ” [ 1992 ] , ” Darr ” [ 1993 ] , ” Dil To Pagal Hai ” [ 1997 ] , ” Veer – Zaara ” [ 2004 ] and ” Jab Tak Hai Jaan ” [ 2012 ] .

FILMFARE AWARDS :

1965 , Filmfare Best Director Award , ” Waqt “

1969 , Filmfare Best Director Award , ” Ittefaq “

1973 , Filmfare Best Director Award , ” Daag “

1975 , Filmfare Best Director Award , ” Deewar “

1991 , Filmfare Best Movie Award , ” Lamhe “

1975 , Filmfare Best Movie Award , ” Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge “

1997 , Filmfare Best Movie Award , ” Dil To Pagal Hai “

2004 , Filmfare Best Movie Award , ” Veer – Zaara “

2006 , Filmfare Power Award

2007 , Filmfare Power Award

2008 , Filmfare Power Award

NATIONAL FILM AWARDS :

1998 , Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment , ” Dil To Pagal Hai “

2005 , Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment , ” Veer – Zaara “

AWARDS & HONOURS :

2001 , Dadasaheb Phalke Award

2005 , Padma Bhushan

2008 , Officier de la Legion d’Honneur

FILMS AS PRODUCER :

When I was working with Uday Chopra as his private tutor , I used to go to Yash ji’s iconic bungalow in Juhu . I bumped into him several times . He was always gracious , always kind . Though he was a legend and I was not even a spec in the scheme of universe .

Once , years later , I went to meet Uday Chopra at Yash Raj Studio . I came out of his office after meeting him and approached the lift . Yash ji was standing there . Door of lift opened . Yash ji went in . I hesitated to enter and was standing still in front of the door . To my utter surprise Yash ji told me to come in . I went in and was almost numb that I am standing so close to him . I am sharing the space with him . Any other person of his stature would have ignored a non – entity like me . But Yash ji , in spite of being a legend , was kind enough to gesture me to come in . I will never forget that moment .

I am honoured that I got an opportunity to work with his banner . It was an experience to remember . Today as I am writing this blog , I remember several fond memories of the legend , who was so kind , ever smiling and always benevolent .

Apart from Mr. Dev Anand , Mr. Yash Raj Chopra is the most important factor in my life . He , along with Aditya Chopra and Uday Chopra , helped an obscure Acting Trainer and thus made me what I am today .Vidur’s Kreating Charakters ,  as an Acting Institute and Acting Trainer Vidur , as a person owe their existence to Yash ji and his Yash Raj Films .

Thank you sir ! I will always be grateful to you because you never made me feel small in your presence . I always got love from you , though I deserved none . You were always condescending , though I was not worthy of anything . You were always kind , though I was just a pigmy in front of a titan like you .

Rest in peace sir !

[ List of his films have been taken from Wikipedia . I express my gratitude . ]

VIDUR

MUMBAI – MAHARASHTRA – INDIA

www.vidur.co.in

www.kreatingcharakters.net

www.vidurfilms.com

www.twitter.com/VidurChaturvedi

www.jaibhojpuri.com/profile/VidurChaturvedi

Leave a Reply

ErikaBeyk

This WordPress.com site is about Health and Wellbeing

Arun Shanbhag

Life is Beautiful, Live it the fullest

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

