60 Years of Film ” Baiju Bawra “


2

MUMBAI – MAHARASHTRA – INDIA           DECEMBER 06 , 2012           11.30 P.M.

Today sitting in the office of my acting institute in Mumbai , I was going through some old issues of Screen . Suddenly I saw an article and came to know that the iconic filmBaiju Bawra is now 60 years old . It was released in 1952 . It is the same year when I was born .

Baiju Bawra (1952 film)

Baiju Bawra (1952 film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

When I started following Hindi film songs in 1967 , I heard some of the songs of the film ” Baiju Bawra ” . In 1967 during my High School days , I didn’t know either Meena Kumari or Bharat Bhushan , the protagonists of ” Baiju Bawra ” . I was not even aware of Naushad or Shakeel Badayuni also , who gave music and wrote lyrics of the film respectively . I simply knew Lata Mangeshkar and Mohammad Rafi , the singers of the film .

After passing High School from the Government Inter College , Deoria , I went to Government Inter College , Allahabad for intermediate in July 1967 . It was in Allahabad that I started following films religiously . There I watched ” Baiju Bawra “ and became aware of Meena Kumari and Bharat Bhushan . I became aware of the legendary status of Naushad and about the good work of lyricist Shakeel Badayuni .

Earlier I had heard the songs of ” Baiju Bawra “ but after watching the film , I started appreciating them in a more positive way . Mohammad Rafi’s ” O Duniya Ke Rakhwale ……… ” and ” Man Tadpat Hari Darshan Ko Aaj ……….. “ were my favourites and they still have same sway over me . They are my perennial favourites . ” Tu Ganga Ki Mauj , Main Jamuna Ka Dhara ……….. “ is hugely popular even today .

 

Meena Kumari

Meena Kumari (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Meena Kumari and Bharat Bhushan were not stars when this film was made with them . Naushad , Lata Mangeshkar and Mohammad Rafi were the only known names and they were the only stars of this non – star cast film . Music of the film was hit and is still remembered by all the connoisseurs of Hindi films .

English: Indian musician Naushad

Musician Naushad (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: Indian singer Lata Mangeshkar as a yo...

Lata Mangeshkar as a young woman (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Mohammed Rafi

Mohammed Rafi (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

All lyrics written by Shakeel Badayuni, music composed by Naushad.

No. Title Singer(s) Length
1. “Tu Ganga Ki Mauj” (Raga Bhairavi) Mohammad Rafi, Lata Mangeshkar
2. “Aaj Gawat Man Mero Jhoomke” (Raga Desi) Ustad Amir Khan, D. V. Paluskar
3. “O Duniya Ke Rakhwale” (Raga Darbari) Mohammad Rafi
4. “Door Koi Gaye” (Raga Des) Lata Mangeshkar, Shamshad Begum and chorus
5. “Mohe Bhool Gaye Sanwariya” (Raga Bhairav with traces of Raga Kalingda) Lata Mangeshkar
6. “Jhoole Mein Pawan Ki Aai Bahar” (Raga Pilu) Mohammad Rafi, Lata Mangeshkar
7. “Man Tarpat Hari Darsan Ko Aaj” (Raga Malkauns) Mohammad Rafi
8. “Bachpan Ki Muhabbat” (Based on Maand) Lata Mangeshkar
9. “Insaan Bano” (Raga Todi) Mohammad Rafi
10. “Tori Jai Jai Kartar” (Raga Puriya Dhanashree) Ustad Amir Khan
11. “Langar Kankariya Ji Na Maro” (Raga Todi) Ustad Amir Khan, D. V. Paluskar
12. “Ghanana Ghanana Ghana Garjo Re” (Raga Megh) Ustad Amir Khan
13. “Sargam” (Raga Darbari) Ustad Amir Khan

This Vijay Bhatt directed film ran for 100 weeks and created history . It is so heartening to note that ” Baiju Bawra “ is now 60 years old and for a film connoisseur like me its magic refuses to fade away even after so many years .

As an acting trainer , its my job to make my students aware of these iconic films and I do it regularly in my acting class in Mumbai .

I , on behalf of all the students and staff of my acting school Vidur’s Kreating Charakters , express my happiness on this historic day .

VIDUR

MUMBAI – MAHARASHTRA – INDIA

www.vidur.co.in

www.kreatingcharakters.net

www.vidurfilms.com

www.twitter.com/VidurChaturvedi

www.jaibhojpuri.com/profile/VidurChaturvedi

Leave a Reply

ErikaBeyk

This WordPress.com site is about Health and Wellbeing

Arun Shanbhag

Life is Beautiful, Live it the fullest

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

