Farooque Sheikh : Har Mulaqat Ka Anjam Judai Kyon Hai?


img_8024

MUMBAI – MAHARASHTRA – INDIA           JANUARY 06, 2014           00.15 A. M.

1

Farooque Sheikh

25 March 1948 − 27 December 2013

I was at Vaitheeswarankoil in the Nagapattinam district of Tamil Nadu for my annual vacation / pilgrimage from December 24 to December 31. On 27th when I checked my twitter account I was shocked beyond belief. It was full of the news of Farooque Sheikh’s untimely death. 65 is no age to leave the world. But alas! it happened in the case of Farooque Sheikh. He was in Dubai with his family for New Year vacation when the end came. He died of cardiac arrest.

During " Gaman " Days

During ” Gaman ” Days

My first memory of Farooque Sheikh goes back to 1978. I saw ” Gaman ” in the Amar Jyoti Talkies of Deoria, my home town. It’s swan song ” seene me jalan, aankhon me toofan sa kyon hai ; is shaher me har shakhs pareshan sa kyon hai ……. ” is still fresh in my memory. When I came out of the hall, I was amused. I felt that Farooque Sheikh was an unusual kind of leading man. He was not a typical Hindi film hero but his screen persona endured in my memory. After ” Gaman ” , I watched highly successful ” Noorie ” and the image of Farooque Sheikh became a permanent part of my life. Then came ” Umrao Jaan ” and ” Chashme Buddoor “, both in 1981 and this unconventional hero, with his wonderful diction, pleasant demeanor and smiling face became one of my all time favourites.

As Nawab in Umrao Jaan

As Nawab in Umrao Jaan

His notable films are ; ” Garam Hawa ” [ 1973 ] , ” Shatranj Ke Khiladi ” [ 1977 ] , ” Gaman ” [ 1978 ] , ” Noorie ” [ 1979 ] , ” Umrao Jaan ” [ 1981 ] , ” Chashme Buddoor ” [ 1981 ] , ” Saath Saath ” [ 1982 ] , ” Bazaar ” [ 1982 ] , ” Katha ” [ 1983 ] , ” Rang Birangi ” [ 1983 ] , ” Faasale ” [ 1985 ] , ” Ek Pal ” [ 1986 ] , ” Biwi Ho To Aisi ” [ 1988 ] , ” Maya Memsaab ” [ 1992 ] , ” Lahore ” [ 2009 ] , ” Shanghai ” [ 2012 ] , ” Listen ….. Amaya ” [ 2013 ] , ” Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani ” [ 2013 ] , & ” Club 60 ” [ 2013 ]. His last film ” Youngistan ” is yet to get released.

He won the 2010 National Film Award for Best Supporting Actor for Lahore.

In the late 90s, Farooq Sheikh acted in a number of television serials. Most famous of them are ” Chamatkar ” on Sony and ” Ji Mantriji ” on Star plus and ” Shrikant “, which was aired from 1985 to 1986. He compered in the Binny Double or Quits Quiz contest which was telecast over Vividh Bharathi. His also anchored the iconic TV show, Jeena Isi Ka Naam Hai (Season 1).

As TV Host of Jeena Isi Ka Naam Hai with Shah Rukh Khan

As TV Host of Jeena Isi Ka Naam Hai with Shah Rukh Khan

He performed on stage in famous productions such as Tumhari Amrita [ 1992 ], alongside Shabana Azmi, directed by Feroz Abbas Khan. This poignant playTumhari Amrita  ” [ 1992 ] completed its 20-year run on 26 February, 2012. A sequel to this play was staged in India in 2004 titled “Aapki Soniya” with Farooq Sheikh and Sonali Bendre as main leads. He also directed ” Aazar Ka Khwab “, an adaptation of Bernard Shaw’s Pygmalion in 2004.

I became an addict of his TV show, Jeena Isi Ka Naam Hai (Season 1). When I watched him on stage alongside Shabana Azmi, in famous productions ” Tumhari Amrita ” [ 1992 ], directed by Feroz Abbas Khan, I was mesmerized.

During " Tumhari Amrita " Days

During ” Tumhari Amrita ” Days

Years ago I played a small part in a play called ” SAARE JAHAN SE ACHCHHA “, Director by Aamir Raza Hussain . Farooque Sahab was supposed to be the narrator of the play. He couldn’t do the play because of some prior commitments and I lost this opportunity to be with him on the stage.

2

It is sad that he went too soon. And he left us when he was on the comeback trail.

Insignia of Brand VIDUR

On behalf of all the students and staff of VIDUR Acting Institute , which is known as Vidur’s Kreating Charakters  , I offer my condolences to the family of Farooque Sheikh and all the near and dear ones.

VIDUR Editing Studio , VIDUR Club and VIDUR Theatre would also like to join them in this hour of grief.

May his soul rest in peace!

[ I have taken list of his films, TV serials and plays from Wikipedia. I express profound gratitude. ]

VIDUR

MUMBAI – MAHARASHTRA – INDIA

www.vidur.co.in

www.kreatingcharakters.net

www.facebook.com/VidursKreatingCharacters

www.facebook.com/vidur.chaturvedi

www.vidurfilms.com

www.youtube.com/ividur

www.twitter.com/VidurChaturvedi

google.com/+VidurChaturvedi

www.jaibhojpuri.com/profile/VidurChaturvedi

Leave a Reply

ErikaBeyk

This WordPress.com site is about Health and Wellbeing

Arun Shanbhag

Life is Beautiful, Live it the fullest

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

