Nanda : Pardesiyon Ko Hai Ik Din Jaanaa …..


img_8024

 

MUMBAI – MAHARASHTRA – INDIA           MARCH 30 , 2014           00.30 A.M.

Vintage Nanda as We Know Her

Vintage Nanda as We Know Her

Unfortunately I was not connected to the net when yesteryear heroine Nanda ji died . I read about her death next day in the Times of India . She died on March 25 , 2014 at the age of 75 . One more icon of my Allahabad days is gone . One more reigning queen of my young years has left this world forever . I am feeling so helpless , so desperate , so forlorn , that I am unable to express myself properly . Several luminaries of cinema , who ruled the tinsel world during my adolescent days , are leaving this ephemeral world one by one . Several beautiful faces have vanished from this terra firma leaving me with this sinking feeling .

Baby Nanda On The Threshold of Youth in "Toofan Aur Diya"

Baby Nanda On The Threshold of Youth in “Toofan Aur Diya”

Nanda started working in films in 1948 as child artiste . She played heroine’s role for the first time in Bandish (1955) . After doing one more film Shatranj (1956) , she attained prominence with Toofan Aur Diya (1956) . This Rajendra Kumar starrer was directed by legendary V. Shantaram . He was Nanda’s paternal uncle .

From Bandish (1955) to Raj Kapoor’s  Prem Rog (1983) , she worked in almost 66 films as lead heroine / character artiste in a career spanning 28 years . She worked in 5 films as child artiste also . Thus Nanda worked in 71 films in a career spanning 35 years . Out of 71 films of Nanda ji , I have watched almost 25 films .

Nanda , during her hey – days , was an epitome of Indianness . Nanda had her own distinct class , beauty and charm . Nanda exuded ethnic oomph and native charm . Nanda was simple , yet she played a glamorous role with perfection and Elan . Nanda was a unique combination of traditional and modern woman . First film of Nanda , which I watched , was a super hit ” Jab Jab Phool Khile ” [ 1965 ] . Nanda played stellar role in the film with Shashi Kapoor .

images

I can never forget the film and its heroine Nanda in Jab Jab Phool Khile (1965) . All the songs of the film are still fresh in my memory and still reverberate in my ears . ” Pardesiyon Se Na Ankhiyaan Milaanaa …….. ” , ” Ye Samaa Samaa Hai Ye Pyaar Ka …………….. ” , ” Ek Tha Gul Aur Ek Thi Bulbul ……………. ” , ” Na Na Karte Pyaar Tumhi Se Kar Baithe …………. ” and the soulful and melancholic ” Yahan Main Ajnabi Hoon …………. “ are still part of my life , even after so many years .

With Shashi Kapoor in "Jab Jab Phool Khile"

With Shashi Kapoor in “Jab Jab Phool Khile”

In "Jab Jab Phool Khile"

In “Jab Jab Phool Khile”

Yeh Samaa , Samaa Hai Ye Pyaar Kaa  in "Jab Jab Phool Khile"

Yeh Samaa , Samaa Hai Ye Pyaar Kaa in “Jab Jab Phool Khile”

After Jab Jab Phool Khile (1965) , I watched several of her films . One film which I fondly remember even today is Dev Anand starrer Hum Dono (1961) , which I watched much later. I watched it in Palace talkies of Allahabad .

With Dev Anand in "Hum Dono"

With Dev Anand in “Hum Dono”

She was one of the few old era heroines , who modelled for Lux . I still remember the campaign .

Model for Lux

It is sad that she died a lonely death . Nanda was unmarried till her death . Few months back I watched a photograph of Nanda and her contemporaries . It brought tears in my eyes. All the beautiful reigning Divas of my young age are looking so different now . And alas , one is now gone !

Nanda & Her Close Friends : Waqt Ne Kiya , Kya Haseen Sitam

Nanda with Her Close Friends – Waheeda Rehman , Helen & Sadhana : Waqt Ne Kiya , Kya Haseen Sitam

===============================================

Filmography

===============================================

 

Vidur Acting Institute Logo

FACEBOOK main

On behalf of all the students and staff of VIDUR Acting Institute , I offer my condolences to the family of Nanda ji and to all the near and dear ones .

VIDUR Editing Studio , VIDUR Club and VIDUR Theatre also pray for the departed soul .

May you REST IN PEACE Nanda ji ! I will always miss you . I will always remember you in Jab Jab Phool Khile (1965) and will never forget the image of your’s in a shikara in Kashmir . The beautiful night of Kashmir , the white satin gown caressing your body , gentle breeze playing with your shampooed hair , your amorous face with bewitching smile and the sonorous Lata Mangeshkar song “…………… Ye Samaa , Samaa Hai Ye Pyaar Kaa ; Kisi Ke Intezar Ka ……………….. “ will always remain with me till the last breath of my life . Your ephemeral body has left us but the above mentioned image endures perennially .

 

[ I have taken information about the films of Nanda ji from Wikipedia . I have copied the list of her films from Wikipedia and posted it here . I am indebted . ]

VIDUR

MUMBAI – MAHARASHTRA – INDIA

www.vidur.co.in

www.viduractinginstitute.com

www.facebook.com/VidursKreatingCharacters

www.facebook.com/vidur.chaturvedi

www.vidurfilms.com

www.youtube.com/ividur

www.twitter.com/VidurChaturvedi

google.com/+VidurChaturvedi

www.jaibhojpuri.com/profile/VidurChaturvedi

Leave a Reply

ErikaBeyk

This WordPress.com site is about Health and Wellbeing

Arun Shanbhag

Life is Beautiful, Live it the fullest

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

