25 Years Without Raj Kapoor


img_8024

MUMBAI – MAHARASHTRA – INDIA           SEPTEMBER 29 , 2013           08.40 P.M.

I started writing this blog last month . But I was unable to complete it because of several other pressing matters . It seems so uncanny that I am completing and posting it one day after the birthday of Raj Kapoor’s grandson Ranbir Kapoor .

Last month all the members of Raj Kapoor‘s family assembled to remember him on his 25th Death Anniversary . Even general public and his fans remembered him fondly on that occasion . It is heartening to know that even after 25 years of his demise , mortal Raj Kapoor’s  immortal memory refuses to fade away from public memory .

Raj Kapoor died on June 02 , 1988 . I still remember the day . I was sitting in my house in Deoria , Uttar Pradesh , my native place . In those days when the penetration of television was not much , one had to wait for the daily news papers in the morning . In those days I used to subscribe The Times of India , an English daily and  Janasatta , a Hindi daily . Both the papers carried front page news of his demise with banner headlines .

Remembering Raj Kapoor

Remembering Raj Kapoor (Photo credit: ramesh_lalwani)

Raj Kapoor needs no introduction even today . A Show-Man producer to the hilt , an avant garde director of international repute and a stylized actor of large fan following , Raj Kapoor created history in Indian cinema . He is part of the famous triumvirate of Hindi film industry . Dilip Kumar and Dev Anand being the other members of the famous triumvirate , which ruled the Hindi film world for the longest time .

Raj Kapoor birth place at Dhaki Munawar Shah, ...

Raj Kapoor birth place at Dhaki Munawar Shah, Peshawar, Pakistan (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Main gate of Raj Kapoor's birth place at Dhaki...

Main gate of Raj Kapoor’s birth place at Dhaki Munawar Shah, Peshawar, Pakistan (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

He , at the age of 24 , became the youngest producer & director with his very first film ” Aag ” [ 1948 ] . Later on he produced 18 films and directed 11 under his own banner R. K. Films .

” Aag ” [ 1948 ] , ” Barsaat ” [ 1949 ] , ” Awaara ” [ 1951 ] , ” Aah ” [ 1953 ] , ” Boot Polish ” [ 1954 ] , ” Shree 420 ” [ 1955 ] , ” Jagte Raho ” [ 1956 ] , ” Ab Dilli Dur Nahin ” [ 1957 ] , ” Jis Desh Men Ganga Behti Hai ” [ 1960 ] , ” Sangam ” [ 1964 ] , “Mera Naam Joker ” [ 1970 ] , ” Kal Aaj Aur Kal ” [ 1971 ] , “Bobby ” [ 1973 ] , ” Dharam Karam ” [ 1975 ] , ” Satyam Shivam Sundaram ” [ 1978 ] , ” Biwi O Biwi ” [ 1981 ] , ” Prem Rog ” [ 1982 ] andRam Teri Ganga Maili ” [ 1985 ] .

I am fortunate that I have seen all the 18 films produced by him . Needless to say that I have also watched all the 11 films , which he directed .

When he died in 1988 , I was in Deoria . One year later , in 1989 , I came to Mumbai . In 1990 I started my career as an acting trainer . Today , as I am writing this blog , I can proudly say that in a way , I am also associated with him . I am very fortunate that I have trained 4 grandchildren of legendary and immortal Raj Kapoor .

In 1999 I started training Kareena Kapoor for Hritik Roshan’s debut film ” Kaho Na … Pyaar Hai ” [ 2000 ] . It is another story that she couldn’t do the film and eventually debuted with Abhishek Bachchan in ” Refugee ” [ 2000 ] . She is daughter of Randhir Kapoor , eldest son of Raj Kapoor .

After Kareena Kapoor , I was called by Neetu Kapoor ji in 2004 to train Ranbir Kapoor , who was about to make his debut with ” Saawariya ” [ 2007 ] . Coincidently I am writing this blog one day after his birthday . He is son of Rishi Kapoor , 2nd son of Raj Kapoor .

In 2012 Raj Kapoor’s youngest daughter Rima Jain ji called me to train her elder son Armaan Jain .  Armaan Jain will make his debut in 2014 with a film being produced by Saif Ali Khan , another student of mine . This untitled film is being directed by Imtiaz Ali’s brother Arif Ali .

Currently , Rima ji’s younger son Aadar Jain is also getting trained by me .

Thus I can say it with great sense of satisfaction that I am fortunate enough to have trained 4 grandchildren of legendary Raj Kapoor .

FULL EDITNG STUDIO

NEWS LETTER

On behalf of all the students and staff of VIDUR Acting Institute , which is known as Vidur’s Kreating Charakters  , I offer my homage to Raj Kapoor , the greatest showman of Hindi cinema .

VIDUR Editing Studio , VIDUR Club and VIDUR Theatre would also like to offer tributes to the legendary film – maker on his 25th death anniversary .

VIDUR

MUMBAI – MAHARASHTRA – INDIA

www.vidur.co.in

www.kreatingcharakters.net

www.facebook.com/VidursKreatingCharacters

www.facebook.com/vidur.chaturvedi

www.vidurfilms.com

www.youtube.com/ividur

www.twitter.com/VidurChaturvedi

www.jaibhojpuri.com/profile/VidurChaturvedi

Leave a comment

Klartext Translated

This WordPress.com site is about Health and Wellbeing and Klartext Translated - Background journalism instead of court reporting. Independent. Uncomfortable. Incorruptible.

Arun Shanbhag

Life is Beautiful, Live it the fullest

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.